INTRODUCTION - Looking for the basics to disseminate

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• INTRODUCTION - Looking for the basics to disseminate

Newbie here. I came across the famous "Brewer YouTube" videos and was hooked. Thanks Dr. Brewer. I just joined this forum. Good stuff. I was impressed by the activity and perceptive and dedicated membership. I've learned a lot and hope to be able to contribute.

My body: It's almost 75 chronological years old and slightly overweight (5'9" 190lbs).

Habits: I'm no jock, but exercise fairly regularly with the goal of turning in a respectable time in my annual 5k which I sponsor for 20 plus family members each year. Diet is average to good. Non smoker. I like wines and liquors, but cut back significantly.

Wake up call to mortality: In spite of "normal" lipid and glucose history dating back 35 years in company physicals, I noticed some angina during strenuous exercise and required a stent (90% occlusion in LAD) at age 71 (3 years ago). Uneventful recovery, but became interested in causes of plaque buildup, especially since it was totally hidden from me. All the cardio docs told me everything looked great and "come back in 6-12 months." Come to think of it, they all told me the same thing before the stent intervention.

About 6 months ago, my glucose/A1C numbers crept into "pre-diabetic" territory, so I bought a glucose meter and am pricking away trying to make sense of it all. It's all about "area under the curve" with the tops clipped !

The mission: A white paper (perhaps 3-4 pages) describing in plain English (assuming zero prior knowledge) the progressive and insidious mechanism of atherosclerosis and diabetes and how to minimize the effects on your life. Seems that almost everyone over age 50 should be interested. Outline:
    1. How atherosclerosis happens
    2. How you get diabetes (focus on pre and Type 2)
    3. Interrelationship of plaque and diabetes and effect on life span